Japanese-Style Salmon Parcels!

Today’s dinner has literally been adapting the recipe to suit the ingredients I had on hand.  I had salmon and was looking through a cook book for some inspiration and Japanese-Style Salmon Parcels caught my attention.  I love parcel recipes for salmon since the fish always stays moist but I didn’t have most of the ingredients…so I skipped some and substituted a couple others.  This accompanied with steamed vegetables would be a healthy no-carb meal but can also be served over brown rice, white rice, noodles etc.  I made vegetable hakka noodles (a popular indo-chinese dish) to go with the salmon.

 

Here is the actual recipe with my modifications:

Ingredients:

  • 2 teaspoons sesame seeds
  • 4 salmon cutlets or steaks (I used fillets)
  • 1 inch piece of ginger (omitted)
  • 2 celery sticks
  • 4 spring onions (I used a small red onion)
  • 1/4 tsp dashi granules (omitted)
  • 3 tbsp mirin (omitted)
  • 2 tbsp tamari (I used soy sauce)

Directions:

  1. Cut 4 squares of baking paper large enough to enclose the salmon steaks.
  2. Preheat oven to 450º F.  Lightly toast sesame seeds for 1 minute.
  3. Wash the salmon and pat dry.  Place a salmon cutlet in the center of each paper square.
  4. Cut the ginger into paper thin slices.  Slice the celery and spring onions into fine strips.  Arrange a bundle of celery and spring onions and several slices of ginger on each salmon steak.
  5. Combine the dashi granules, mirin and tamari in a very small sauce pan.  Heat gently until the granules dissolve.  Drizzle over each parcel, sprinkle with sesame seeds and carefully wrap the salmon, folding in the sides to seal in all the juices.  (I just drizzled soy sauce, red pepper flakes, and some red chili paste over)
  6. Arrange the parcels on a baking tray and cook for about 12 minutes, or until tender.

 

 

Leave a Reply

