Chicken Shawarma!

I cannot sing enough praises for this recipe.  It is so simple that my 12 year old son was able to make this with little help.  We made this twice already – once with chicken breasts and last night again with chicken thighs.  I personally liked the chicken breasts better.  Baking time is less with chicken breasts since they cook faster. I omit the last step of making the chicken crispy – it is so soft and moist right out of the oven that we eat it right away.  Served with vegetables, olives, tzatziki sauce and some warm pita bread this is a complete meal and it is really easy and fast.  Marinate the chicken the morning of or the night before and dinner is ready in under 30 minutes.

A simple tzatziki sauce is quite easy to prepare – I used dried dill instead of fresh but if you have fresh dill it’s better.  I don’t buy fresh dill since I won’t know what to do with the rest – a friend of mine makes a daal with dill but I am yet to try that recipe.  Some times, I think services like Blue Apron and Plated are cool since they deliver all the required ingredients at exactly the quantities that a recipe needs…there is no wasting this way.

Changes I made to the recipes:

  • Use harissa instead of paprika
  • Skip parsley ( I am not a big fan of it)

Tzatziki sauce:

  • Added a pinch of ras el hanout
  • Used dried dill instead of fresh

Chicken Shwarma and tzatziki sauce!

IMG_3839

IMG_7261

Leave a Reply

